Blocking someone is a widespread incident. There are many annoying and unwanted people out there on social networks whose presence even bothers us, and we don’t want to have anything with them at all.
So, we block them. They might be in our friends or follower list and have reacted and liked our photos. This can be a ubiquitous question. What happens to their likes when we block them?
On Facebook, the likes remain there. But due to the blocking, we can’t see that. Other people can see their activities on our profiles.
It can be a bit annoying considering we don’t want anything to do with them. We don’t even want their likes and reactions to exist there. Mutual feelings for someone on Instagram. So, what happens when you block someone on Instagram?
Why do we block someone on Instagram?
Blocking someone means limiting them from your profile. They will not be able to view your profile at all. Your profile will not appear in search. Automatically the follower-following relationship collapses, and there’s a privacy bar over what you can share or see from each other.
We block someone if we want for them not to see what we are doing. There can be many reasons behind it. The most common reason is an annoyance, difference of opinion, or imposing problems.
What happens when you block someone on Instagram?
When we block someone on Instagram, their activity on our profile vanishes. If they’ve had liked anything on our profile gets removed. Tags, mentions, everything gets removed.
This is an excellent thing considering the purpose of blocking someone gets appropriately served. In Instagram, blocking someone pauses and factory resets their activity on our profile.
On other social networks, you can’t have anything like this. This system of Instagram is admiring. But there’s one asterisk. That is what happens if you unblock them? Do their likes come back?
What happens when you unblock someone on Instagram?
Unblocking does not revert any of the changes that were done due to the blocking. Just like when you block someone on Facebook and unblock them, they get unfriended from your friends’ list.
On Instagram, they get removed from your followers’ list, and you get removed from their followers’ list. On top of that likes, comments, tags, mentions, everything gets removed.
Any action reverted once does not come back. This means if you are blocking someone, whether you unblock them or not their likes are not coming back.
So, this is what happens when you block and then unblock someone. Every activity with them gets removed.
When this happens, your engagement takes a hit. On your whole profile, if that person had liked all your posts, those likes will be gone for good. There are methods of how you can generate more engagements and likes on your profile.
When we block someone, it’s mostly out of rage. There’s not enough time for us to see what else is happening due to this blocking. So, when the rage lessens, and we decide to unblock them, we should know that all the activity with them is gone. If you want them to again engage with your posts, either you’ll have to ask them, or they’ll have to notice themselves that they don’t have their likes on your photos.
So, if you don’t want to lose someone’s likes from your photos, do not block them. Because, if the action is once done cannot be reverted eve by unblocking them.